Meeting Header

Harridge Lecture

About William Hunter Harridge

William Hunter Harridge

William Hunter Harridge

Bill Harridge was a man of uncommon energy, integrity, and honesty. His personal enthusiasm, as well as his organizational abilities, made him an outstanding leader of men and organizations. This was evident early in his life as he served with distinction as a company commander of an Army tank unit. In 1945, he suffered a severe open chest wound in France causing his discharge from the Army with the rank of major.

In 1963, after much discussion and thought, a decision was made to disband the Midwest Surgical Society. Fortunately for our present Society, Bill was persuaded to assume the Presidency for the coming year. Under his leadership the Society was resurrected, its geographical base was expanded, and it has flourished ever since.

With the exception of his father, Will Harridge, Sr., who was the President of the American Baseball League, Bill’s relationship with Dr. Warren Cole was the most important of his life. Dr. Cole writes: “Bill had good judgment, sincerity, determination, willingness to discipline himself… he had complete honesty and integrity… compassion, a characteristic so necessary if one is to become a fine physician.”

Bill graduated from the University of Illinois College of Medicine in 1950 and served his internship and residency under Dr. Cole from 1950 to 1956. While he entered private practice in Evanston, Illinois he maintained an active clinical affiliation with the University and was promoted to the rank of Clinical Professor. In May of 1970, he received the Distinguished Service Award in recognition of his contribution to the Department of Surgery.

Bill was a strong advocate of doctors determining their own destiny through active participation in their own professional organizations. He was a Diplomat of the American Board of Surgery and belonged to the Warren H. Cole Society (President 1968-69), Midwest Surgical Association (President 1964-65), North Suburban Branch of the Chicago Medical Society (President 1969- 70), Chicago Surgical Society (Recorder 1968-70), The Western Surgical Association, The Illinois Surgical Society, The Society for Surgery of the Alimentary Tract, North Shore Chapter American Cancer Society (President 1966-68), The Institute of Medicine of Chicago and the American College of Surgeons. His many contributions to the surgical literature were primarily related to peripheral vascular and biliary tract disease.

Beloved by his patients and respected for his abilities by his surgical colleagues, Bill Harridge is most remembered for his rigid adherence to the principles of fairness, honesty, and forthrightness in all situations.

Previous Lecturers

Herbert Chen MD 2023
Edward M. Barksdale Jr., MD 2022
Joseph Dearani MD  2021
Peter J. Fabri MD, PhD 2020
Jeffrey B. Matthews, MD 2019
Ian C. Lavery MD 2018
Anees B. Chagpar, MD, MSc, MPH, MA, MBA 2017
John J. Fung, MD, PhD 2016
Richard A. Santucci, MD 2015
Jeffrey Ponsky, MD 2014
Fred A. Weaver, MD, MMM 2013
Daniel B. Michael, MD, PhD 2012
Leigh Neumayer, MD 2011
Kirby Bland, MD 2010
Jay L. Grosfeld, MD 2009
Douglas James Mathisen, MD 2008
Terrell Hicks, MD 2007
George Irvin, III, MD 2006
J. David Richardson, MD 2005
Josef E. Fischer, MD 2004
Stephen D. Leach, MD 2003
Charles E. Lucas, MD 2002
J. Wayne Meredith, MD 2001
Michael W. L. Gauderer, MD 2000
Glenn D. Steele, Jr., MD, PhD 1999
Layton F. Rikkers, MD 1998
Gregorio A. Sicard, MD 1997
John P. Delaney, MD, PhD 1996
Keith A. Kelly, MD 1995
Robert E. McAfee, MD 1994
Richard L. Simmons, MD 1993
David S. Mulder, MD 1992
Donald D. Trunkey, MD 1991
Lazer Greenfield, MD 1990
Erwin R. Thal, MD 1989
Jo Patrick O’Leary, MD 1988
Robert W. Barnes, M.D 1987
Jeremiah G. Turcotte, MD 1986
Steven G. Economou, MD 1985
Jerry M. Shuck, MD 1984
Robert E. Hermann, MD 1983
Ward 0. Griffen, MD 1982
Robert Condon, M.D 1981
Robert J. Freeark, MD 1980
John Glover, MD 1979
Robert Bartlett. MD 1978
J. Wesley Alexander, MD 1977
Raymond Read, MD 1976
Hushang Javid, MD 1975
Alexander J. Walt, MD 1974